top of page
拍摄.png

我们的梦想

时间过得好快,自己全职创业已经两年、兼职创业已经七年、来澳求学已经十六年。这期间发生了很多事,有很多积极的改变,也有不少消极的、意外的变化。小到自我、大到中澳关系、世界格局。计划总是赶不上变化。

 

其实这十六年来的我每一次积极改变的背后,都是自己战胜怯懦、朝目标迈出步伐的结果。从校园到职场,从职场到创业。一路走过来虽然经历不少风浪,总体倒也还算平稳。至于那些我没法掌控的改变,我已经不像年轻时那么执着 - 空思量、黯神伤了。

我在给我的客户进行职业辅导时,经常会鼓励他们培养积极的思维视角(mindset),

  • 专注在那些自己能完全掌控的部分;

  • 影响自己不能完全掌控的部分;

  • 放手那些自己完全不能掌控的部分。

 

无论在全职工作中,还是在创业中,我一直都希望自己能够更多地去影响、引领我不能完全掌控的部分。这部分是最让我感到挑战和兴奋的。

 

过去在花旗,我试图在我的岗位上去说服反对的声音,从而积极地影响产品的路线图和客户体验,我尽最大的努力去影响我的团队和更广泛的团队成员,让大家朝同一个目标努力。

 

现在在“小鱼说”,我试图通过我们的社群和我们的职业辅导去改变别人的职场轨迹、甚至人生轨迹。我们的使命就是帮助更多亚裔文化背景的职场人能够在澳洲更好地实现自我价值,达成自己的职业目标。在这一过程中,我遇见了很多志同道合的小伙伴,影响、改变了不少人,也被不少人影响,成为了一个更好的自己。

 

放眼看更大的格局,中澳之间的关系自2018年以来持续恶化,直到2022年澳洲新政府执政才开始缓慢好转,再到本周李强总理顺利访澳,双方共同带来一系列的利好消息。在过去的6、7年间,很多在澳的华人和我一样都经历了很多失望的时刻,也都强烈期盼中澳关系能回到正轨。遗憾的是,这个世界并不只有好消息,最近一段时间以来,澳大利亚内部持续进行的关于是否要限制国际学生人数的讨论也引发了很多人的担忧。国际学生这个群体很不幸地被某些澳洲的政客作为本国问题的“替罪羊”,这样的讨论直接导致澳洲联邦政府在上个月发布了要对国际学生人数进行限制的政策。这样的讨论和政策的发布,让正在澳洲读书的国际学生以及打算未来来澳留学的学生对自己未来的选择产生了新的困惑和疑虑。

 

国际学生不仅对澳洲的经济增长至关重要,他们当中留在澳洲生活的移民,为澳洲的经济、社会和多元文化带来的贡献是巨大的。他们当中回到自己祖国的留学生,则成为了澳大利亚和其他国家人民之间友谊和文化交流的纽带和桥梁。通过澳洲教育体系培养出来的留学生无论去往哪里,都能为其所在的国家带来价值。澳大利亚在国家战略上把亚洲作为自己未来发展的重中之重,吸引高质量多元文化背景的人才才能匹配自己的国家战略。而澳洲限制国际学生人数的政策和自己的亚洲战略看起来像是方向完全相反的。

 

最近的政策无疑引发了很多的讨论。人们总是会看到各种各样的问题,但很少人能给出解决方案。 那么我又能做什么?我在想怎么做可以带来更积极的改变和更多的价值?澳洲的媒体里谈到国际学生,说的都是他们带来的种种问题,或者他们遇到的种种问题。但在主流的媒体里却很少有关于国际学生成功的故事。澳洲自从1986年开始引进国际学生以来,到如今有无数的国际学生成为了各行各业的佼佼者,为澳大利亚贡献了不可磨灭的力量。于是我有了这么一个梦想:我想要依托“小鱼说”社群的力量和自己身边的人脉网络,制作一部纪录片。通过访谈和叙述者主导相结合的形式,选取4到6个有代表性的故事,通过荧幕呈现出国际留学生在澳洲奋斗、成长的轨迹。通过音频,听他们分享澳洲的教育、生活和工作的经历给他们带来了什么样的变化。 梦想太大,先从最简单的入手,从对我来说最容易入手的文化背景开始 - 中国。

纪录片海报(中文).png

于是我的梦想变成了:

 

策划并制作一部纪录片,聚焦来自中国大陆、香港、澳门和台湾的澳洲职场人士,以纪录片的形式呈现他们是如何通过澳洲的教育体系,从青涩懵懂的国际学生蜕变成为其所在的社会、组织和社群带来积极影响和巨大价值的个体的。

这样一部纪录片,希望可以:

1. 带给更多中国新一代移民和职场人士们信心、勇气和力量;

2. 让考虑来澳大利亚留学的中国孩子和家长们可以更直接地了解澳洲的教育体系所能带来的价值;

3. 帮助澳大利亚的教育机构(学校)更好地推广自己的留学项目;

4. 让更多的澳大利亚人了解中国新一代移民为澳洲社会带来的价值,为澳洲多元文化的繁荣注入新的活力;

5. 让更多的中国人了解澳大利亚,喜欢澳大利亚。为中澳之间的民间友谊增添砝码。

Concrete Wall

如果能顺利完成并收获好评,之后可以制作类似的纪录片记录其他亚洲国家文化背景的国际学生是如何通过澳洲的教育体系,如何给澳洲和他们的祖国带来积极影响和价值的。

 

有了这样的想法,接下来的第一件事就是把它写下来,只有写下来,才更有机会去实现它。我希望能够和澳大利亚的学校、相关的政府部门及社会组织合作,积极推进这一能够带来改变和价值的梦想,或许这也是你们当中一些人的梦想吧。 

 

我在领英上也已经用英文发布了这一梦想:

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/stevenyuaus_asialinkleaders-documentary-internationalstudents-activity-7208364883615076352-5zN1?utm_source=share&utm_medium=member_desktop

如果你支持我的这一梦想,请移步我的LinkedIn帮忙点赞(like)、留言(comment)或者转帖(re-post),让更多的人看到这个想法,吸引更多志同道合的人加入到实现这个梦想的过程中来。

背景222.png

如果你的身边有以下的资源或人脉,欢迎帮忙对接:

  • 纪录片的导演、拍摄及制作团队

  • 感兴趣为纪录片提供资金支持的机构或组织 (如澳洲的大学、政府机构、相关的基金会)

  • 版权方面及合同方面的法务专业人士

  • 适合出现在纪录片中的人物

  • 纪录片宣传推广方面的专业人士

感谢大家一直以来对我的支持和帮助。希望接下来能有机会实现这个梦想。

bottom of page

top of page
拍摄.png

More about our dream

Time flies. It has been two years since I started my full-time entrepreneurial journey, seven years since I began part-time entrepreneurship, and sixteen years since I came to Australia as an international student. During this time, many things have happened, with numerous positive changes as well as some negative and unexpected developments, ranging from personal growth to the evolving dynamics of Sino-Australian relations and the global landscape.

Over these sixteen years, every positive change in my life has been the result of overcoming fear and taking steps toward my goals. From the campus to the workplace, and from the workplace to entrepreneurship, although I have faced many challenges along the way, the journey has been relatively smooth. As for the changes beyond my control, I am no longer as fixated on them as I was when I was younger, wasting time on fruitless worries.

When providing career coaching to my clients, I often encourage them to cultivate a positive mindset:

  1. Focus on what they can completely control.

  2. Influence what they can partially control.

  3. Let go of what they cannot control at all.

 

Whether in my full-time job or entrepreneurial endeavors, I always strive to influence and lead the parts I cannot completely control. These challenges are the most exciting and motivating for me.

In the past at Citibank, I did my best to influence my team and the broader organization, encouraging everyone to work towards the same goal, i.e. delivering better products & services and driving greater client experience.

Now at Fish Talk, I aim to change people's career trajectories, and even life paths, through our community and career coaching. Our mission is to help professionals of Asian cultural backgrounds better realize their self-worth and achieve their career goals in Australia. In this process, I have met many like-minded individuals, influenced and changed many people, and have been influenced and changed by many, becoming a better version of myself.

Looking at the bigger picture, Sino-Australian relations have been deteriorating since 2016. It wasn’t until 2022, when the new Australian government took office, that relations began to slowly improve, culminating recently in Premier Li Qiang's successful visit to Australia, bringing a series of positive news. Over the past 6-7 years, many Chinese people in Australia, like myself, have experienced numerous moments of disappointment and strongly hope that Sino-Australian relations can return to normal. Unfortunately, the world doesn't always bring good news. Recently, ongoing discussions in Australia about limiting the number of international students have caused considerable concern. International students have unfortunately been scapegoated by some Australian politicians for its challenges domestically. This discussion led to the Australian federal government announcing a policy to limit the number of international students last month. The policy has created new confusion and doubts among current international students in Australia and those planning to study here in the future.

International students are not only vital to Australia's economic growth, but those who stay and live in Australia also contribute significantly to the economy, society, and multiculturalism. Those who return to their home countries become bridges of friendship and cultural exchange between Australia and other nations. International students educated in Australia bring value to wherever they go. Strategically, Australia views Asia as crucial to its future development, and attracting high-quality, culturally diverse talent aligns with this strategy. However, the policy to limit international student numbers seems to contradict this Asian-focused strategy.

The recent policy has undoubtedly sparked much discussion. People often see various problems but rarely offer solutions. So, what can we do? How can we bring about more positive change and add more value? The Australian media often discusses the problems brought by international students or the challenges they face, but there are rarely success stories of international students in mainstream media. Since introducing international students in 1986, countless students have excelled in various fields and made indelible contributions to Australia. Thus, I have a dream: to produce a documentary leveraging the Fish Talk community's strength and my network. Through interviews and narrator-led storytelling, I want to feature few stories, highlighting international students' journeys of struggle and growth in Australia. Through the documentary, I want them to share how their studying and living experiences in Australia have changed them.

This big dream starts with the simplest step: focusing on a cultural background I am most familiar with – China.

So my dream is: To plan and produce a documentary focusing on professionals in Australia from mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan, presenting how they have transformed from international students into individuals who bring positive influence and immense value to the Australian society, organizations, and communities.

纪录片En.png

So my dream is:

 

To plan and produce a documentary focusing on professionals in Australia from mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan, presenting how they have transformed from international students into individuals who bring positive influence and immense value to the Australian society, organizations, and communities.

I hope this documentary can:

1.Provide confidence, courage, and strength to more new-generation Chinese immigrants and professionals.

2.Give Chinese students and parents considering studying in Australia a direct understanding of the value of the Australian education system.

3.Help Australian educational institutions (schools) better promote their study programs to attract more talented prospect international students.

4.Enable more Australians to understand the value brought by new-generation Chinese immigrants, a vital component of Australia's multicultural prosperity.

5.Help more Chinese people learn about and appreciate Australia and Australian people, enhancing people to people relationship between China and Australia.

Concrete Wall

If successfully completed and well-received, similar documentaries can be produced to record how international students from other Asian cultural backgrounds positively impact Australia and their home countries through the Australian education system.

 

I hope to collaborate with Australian schools, relevant government departments, and social organizations to bring this dream to live. Perhaps this is also your dream.

I have also posted this dream in English on LinkedIn:

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/stevenyuaus_asialinkleaders-documentary-internationalstudents-activity-7208364883615076352-5zN1?utm_source=share&utm_medium=member_desktop

If you support my dream, please visit my LinkedIn and help by liking, commenting, or reposting it. This will help more people see the idea and attract like-minded individuals to join in realizing this dream.

背景222.png

If you have the following resources or connections, please help connect me:​

 

Film directors, filming expert, script writers and production teams for the documentary.

Institutions or organizations interested in providing funding or any other support for the documentary (e.g., Australian universities, government agencies, relevant foundations).

Legal professionals specializing in copyright and contract matters.

Individuals suitable to be featured in the documentary.

Professionals in documentary promotion and marketing.

Thank you all for your continued support and help. I hope to have the opportunity to realize this dream soon.

bottom of page